David Aukin Productions


Trainspotting (1996)

★★★ Film ★★★

As Head of Film4 Aukin commissioned more than 100 features which between them won 7 Oscars and 19 BAFTAs plus numerous nominations; 2 Cannes Palme d’Ors; the Peabody Award in 2009 for Endgame, and an International Emmy and a Bafta for Film4 itself.


David Aukin Productions Ltd

Email: david@aukin.co.uk

Consultant and Executive Producer for
Film, Television and Theatre

Film4: 1990-1998


Prospero’s Books (1991)
Dir and writer (with Shakespeare): Peter Greenaway. Cast: John Gielguid, Michael Clark

Hear My Song (1991)
Dir and Writer: Peter Chelsom. Cast: Ned Beatty, Adrian Dunbar, Tara Fitzgerald

Young Soul Rebels (1991)
Dir: Isaac Julien. Writer: Paul Hallam, Isaac Julien

Riff Raff (1991)
Dir: Ken Loach. Writer: Bill Jesse. Winner FIPRESCI Prize Cannes FF 1991

The Crying Game (1992)
Dir and Writer: Neil Jordan. Won Oscar for Best Original Screenplay. Prod: Stephen Woolley. Cast: Stephen Rea won BAFTA for Best Actor, Forest Whitaker, Miranda Richardson, Jaye Davidson won BAFTA for Best Supporting Actor, Adrian Dunbar

Howards End (1992)
Dir: James Ivory. Writer: Ruth Prawer Jhabvala won Oscar Best Screenplay based on the novel by E.M. Forster. Cast: Anthony Hopkins, Emma Thompson won Oscar for Best Actress, Vanessa Redgrave. Luciana Arrighi won Oscar for Best Art Direction

The Best Intentions (1992)
Dir: Bille August. Writer: Ingmar Bergman. Cast: Max von Sydow. Winner Palme d’Or Cannes Film Festival 1993

The Long Day Closes (1992)
Dir and Writer: Terence Davies

Damage (1992)
Dir: Louis Malle. Writer: David Hare based on the novel by Josephine Hart. Cast: Jeremy Irons, Juliette Binoche, Miranda Richardson

Raining Stones (1993)
Dir: Ken Loach. Writer: Jim Allen. Winner Jury Prize Cannes FF 1993

Bhaji on the Beach (1993)
Dir: Gurinder Chadha. Writer: Meera Syall and Grinder Chadha

Naked (1993)
Winner of BAFTA Best British Film. Dir and Writer: Mike Leigh, winner Cannes Best Director. Cast: David Thewlis winner Cannes Best Actor, Lesley Sharp, Katrin Cartlidge

Three Colours, Blue, Red and White (1993-4)
Dir and Writer: Krzysztof Kieslowski

Shallow Grave (1994)
Dir: Danny Boyle. Writer: John Hodge. Prod: Andrew Macdonald. Winner BAFTA Best British Film. Cast: Kerry Fox, Ewan McGregor, Christopher Eccleston, Keith Allen

The Madness of King George (1994)
Winner of BAFTA for Best British Film. Dir: Nicholas Hytner. Writer: Alan Bennett. Prod: Stephen Evans and David Parfitt. Cast: Nigel Hawthorne, Helen Mirren. Ken Adam winner of Oscar for Best Art Direction

Four Weddings and a Funeral (1994)
Winner BAFTA Best Film. Dir: Mike Newell winner BAFTA Best Director. Writer: Richard Curtis. Cast: Hugh Grant, winner BAFTA Best Actor, Andie MacDowell, Kristin Scott Thomas, winner BAFTA Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Sister My Sister (1995)
Dir: Nancy Meckler. Writer: Wendy Kesselman. Cast: Julie Walters, Joely Richardson, Jodhi May

Land and Freedom (1995)
Dir: Ken Loach, winner of the Cannes FIPRESCI Prize. Writer Jim Allen. Cast: Ian Hart

Safe (1995)
Dir and Writer: Todd Haynes. Cast: Julianne Moore

Trainspotting (1996)
Dir: Danny Boyle. Writer: John Hodge, winner BAFTA for adapted screenplay. Prod: Andrew Macdonald. Cast: Ewan McGregor, Ewen Bremner, Jonny Lee Miller, Kevin Mckidd, Robyle, Kelly Macdonald

Secrets and Lies (1996)
Winner BAFTA Best Film and British Film. Dir and Writer: Mike Leigh, winner BAFTA Best Screenplay. Cast: Timothy Spall, Brenda Blethyn winner BAFTA Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading role, Phyllis Logan

Brassed Off (1996)
Dir and Writer: Mark Herman, winner of WGGB Best screenplay. Cast: Peter Postlethwaite, Tara Fitzgerald, Ewan McGregor

Beautiful Thing (1996)
Dir: Hettie MacDonald. Writer: Jonathan Harvey

Fever Pitch (1997)
Dir: David Evans. Writer: Nick Hornby from his book. Cast: Colin Firth, Ruth Gemmell

Welcome to Saravejo (1997)
Dir: Michael Winterbottom. Writer: Frank Cottrell Boyce, Michael Nicholson, from his book. Cast: Stephen Dillane, Woody Harrelson, Marisa Tomei

The Slab Boys (1997)
Dir and Writer: John Byrne

The Red Violin (1998)
Dir: Francois Girard. Writer: Don McKellar, Francois Girard. John Corigliano won Oscar for Best Music

The Velvet Goldmine (1998)
Dir: Todd Haynes, won Cannes Best Artistic Contribution. Writer: James Lyons, Todd Haynes. Cast: Ewan McGregor, Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Christian Bale. Sandy Powell won BAFTA for Best Costume

Croupier (1998)
Dir: Mike Hodges. Writer: Paul Meyersberg. Cast: Clive Owen, Alex Kingston, Gina McKee

Elizabeth (1998)
Winner BAFTA Best British Film. Dir: Shekhar Kapur. Writer: Michael Hirst. Cast: Cate Blanchett, won BAFTA for Best Actress in a Leading role. Jenny Shircore won Oscar and BAFTA for Best Makeup. David Hirschfielder won BAFTA for Film Music. Alexandra Byrne BAFTA for Costumes

The Land Girls (1998)
Dir: David Leland. Writer: Keith Dewhurst, Angela Huth from her novel. Cast: Catherine McCormack, Rachel Weisz, Anna Friel

Hal Films: 1998-2000

Mansfield Park (1999)
Dir and Writer: Patricia Rozema from the novel by Jane Austen. Cast: Frances O’Connor, Jonny Lee Miller, Alessandro Nivola, Harold Pinter

About Adam (2000)

Birthday Girl (2001)
Dir: Jezz Butterworth. Writer: Tom Butterworth, Jezz Butterworth Cast: Nicole Kidman, Vincent Cassel, Ben Chaplin

Daybreak Pictures: 2003-2020

Mrs Henderson Presents (2005)
Dir: Stephen Frears. Writer: Martin Sherman Cast: Judi Dench, Bob Hoskins, Kelly Reilly

Endgame (2009)
Single. Dir: Pete Travis. Writer: Paula Milne. Prod: Hal Vogel, David Aukin. Cast: William Hurt, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Jonny Lee Miller

Hyde Park on Hudson (2012)
Dir: Roger Michell. Writer: Richard Nelson. Cast: Bill Murray, Laura Linney, Olivia Williams

True History of the Kelly Gang (2020)
Dir: Justin Kurzel. Writer: Shaun Grant based on the novel by Peter Carey. Cast: George McKay, Essie davis, Nicholas Hoult, Russell Crowe

Denmark (2020)

David Aukin Productions Ltd

Email: david@aukin.co.uk

Consultant and Executive Producer for
Film, Television and Theatre